April 23, 2017, 08:24:15 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Feds Seize KickassTorrents Domains, Arrest Alleged Owner -- https://goo.gl/FRHbEJ

Author Topic: Vmware Loading Guest Tools  (Read 3918 times)

Offline Malachai

  • Top Hat Member
  • Super Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 2799
  • Internets: +18/-7
  • #!/bin/sh Day/Night (Grey Hat)
Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« on: April 23, 2013, 11:42:25 AM »
Hello All,
So I decided to try vmware 9 and see how it runs with THS_OS rc1. The software install was find the OS was loaded okay. But when it came down to loading the guest software it wont' finish loading.

The mouse works find in the vmware/OS but when I try to move the mouse out of the vm it's stuck. I have to press crtl + alt to release the mouse from the vm. Then I could use it on my host machine.

I looked online and they said to run apt-get update && apt-get upgrade && apt-get dist-upgrade. I ran those the first time fine. VM machine is up to date.

when I ran the vmware-install.pl file it ran fine but got a error message towards the end. Could this error message be the cause of the mouse not releasing from the vm?

Error Message

Distribution provided drivers for Xorg X server are used.

Skipping X configuration because X drivers are not included.

Creating a new initrd boot image for the kernel.
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-3.7-trunk-amd64
live-boot: core filesystems devices utils memdisk udev wget blockdev.
   Starting Virtual Printing daemon:                                   done
   Checking acpi hot plug                                              done
Starting VMware Tools services in the virtual machine:
   Switching to guest configuration:                                   done
/etc/init.d/vmware-tools: 1090: local: ': bad variable name
   VM communication interface:                                         done
   VM communication interface socket family:                           done
/etc/init.d/vmware-tools: 1090: local: ': bad variable name
   Blocking file system:                                              failed

   VMware User Agent:                                                  done
/etc/init.d/vmware-tools: 1187: local: ': bad variable name
   Guest operating system daemon:                                      done
Unable to start services for VMware Tools

Execution aborted.

Let me know what you guys think..
Thanks,
** Dont' judge me! **

*//
  Hope that Firewall works because your SCREWED  
  //*

Offline em3rgency

  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Internets: +36/-3
  • OSWP SQLi N+
    • Security Research
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 12:25:16 PM »
Its cause you have an HP bro.

It looks like there is an incompatibility with your video drivers and the VM. Sorry this inst much help.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2013, 12:27:31 PM by em3rgency »
Website: http://www.em3rgency.com

My other computer is your computer.

Offline Malachai

  • Top Hat Member
  • Super Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 2799
  • Internets: +18/-7
  • #!/bin/sh Day/Night (Grey Hat)
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2013, 05:01:42 PM »
hahah funny... I will see what I could find out or try to figure it out.
** Dont' judge me! **

*//
  Hope that Firewall works because your SCREWED  
  //*

mm96631

  • Guest
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2013, 05:17:22 PM »

/etc/init.d/vmware-tools: 1187: local: ': bad variable name


did you check to see if that path is correct?

Offline Malachai

  • Top Hat Member
  • Super Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 2799
  • Internets: +18/-7
  • #!/bin/sh Day/Night (Grey Hat)
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2013, 08:49:59 PM »
Well after looking around the net for about 4 hours. I came across this site
http://www.surlyjake.com/2011/02/install-open-vm-tools-on-debian-6-squeeze/

After following some of the steps on the site I was able to get my mouse to release from vm to the host machine.

here are the steps I took .

1.  gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

2 . added these to the source file
deb http://debian.uchicago.edu/debian/ squeeze main contrib
deb-src http://debian.uchicago.edu/debian/ squeeze main contrib

3.
apt-get update
apt-get install open-vm-tools open-vm-source

4. Ran this and gave me some message that I needed to install the linux-header but it installed it by itself.

module-assistant auto-install open-vm -i

5. apt-get install open-vm-toolbox

after that I rebooted and it worked fine. Hopefully if someone else runs into this kind of problem this might work for them.

Other thing I did was just comment out those 2 entries I added to the source.list. Don't really need them when I run my updates and stuff.

See it's not a HP thing ...  ;D
« Last Edit: April 23, 2013, 08:53:47 PM by Malachai »
** Dont' judge me! **

*//
  Hope that Firewall works because your SCREWED  
  //*

Offline darkc0d3

  • YOU CANNOT KILL AN IDEA
  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 660
  • Internets: +35/-0
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2013, 09:36:27 PM »
Hey guys. well i have install the VMplayer in my Wheezy 64bit, and loaded guest machine a copy for wheezy-kali 64bit and not work.  :( 
I need to upgrade in Workstation version for work this; or something else i missing here;  :o
the screenshot bellow it's running kali 1.0  32 bit and works fine.  :o
''When you have the knowledge you are a king, share the knowledge and you are God''
darkc0d3

Offline darkc0d3

  • YOU CANNOT KILL AN IDEA
  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 660
  • Internets: +35/-0
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2013, 07:07:39 AM »
Ok upgraded in VM Workstation now but the problem it's the same 64bit  not running in vm.
you have guys some idea;
In the first pic the option "Version" it's not have for debian 7 only 6
the error message look the second pick below.
I googlit this message and i find only this: in the main screen menu Devices > Processors > Virtualization Engine > i check the option Virtualize Intel VT-x/EPT or AMD-V/RVI.

But nothing happens  it's not work.
the distro have install all the vm dkms tools. all 3.7 headers and the old kernel 3.2 removed.  :o
« Last Edit: May 31, 2013, 07:11:05 AM by darkc0d3 »
''When you have the knowledge you are a king, share the knowledge and you are God''
darkc0d3

Offline ZEROF

  • Top Hat Member
  • Experienced
  • ********
  • Posts: 225
  • Internets: +45/-1
    • Pentester
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2013, 01:50:20 PM »
Hi darkc0d3,

I can't give you solution for you 64bit issue, but i stopped using workstation because of vmware player. Maybe it's only my case, but I have less issues with player then workstation, and player is free. I think that i saw some topic about your issue, but i couldn't find right now, will check again. As i use only BackBox, both 32 and 64bit runs without problems.

And check this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=zDCit0xOBz0
And Kali docks: http://docs.kali.org/downloading/download-official-kali-linux-images

Maybe this can help you !
« Last Edit: May 31, 2013, 01:52:37 PM by ZEROF »

Offline darkc0d3

  • YOU CANNOT KILL AN IDEA
  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 660
  • Internets: +35/-0
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2013, 02:59:20 PM »
Thanks for Replay ZEROF basically i don't like it VM but like it in others in this forum and people outside, in the public version for my distro it's good to add the possible to run in VMware. but it's pain on the ass Thanks for info mate. :)
''When you have the knowledge you are a king, share the knowledge and you are God''
darkc0d3

mm96631

  • Guest
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2013, 05:36:57 PM »
AHH, now I see the pic you were trying to get me to look at. Man I wish I could help, but I am clueless as to what the problem is. Your distro is built basically exactly the way mine was, and it works in mine.  ??? ??? I am completely lost as to why you are having this issue. I wish I could be more help buddy.

Offline ZEROF

  • Top Hat Member
  • Experienced
  • ********
  • Posts: 225
  • Internets: +45/-1
    • Pentester
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2013, 01:25:33 PM »
This is very important part,



I didn't check first time, but now, I can give you answer about this issue. Some processor have Virtualization Technology (VT) support and other no. Intel's website has a whole list of which processors support VT-x here

Offline darkc0d3

  • YOU CANNOT KILL AN IDEA
  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 660
  • Internets: +35/-0
Re: Vmware Loading Guest Tools
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2013, 02:32:06 AM »
Hi zerof you have right mate , the problem it's the processor damm....  :-X thanks for the info.
''When you have the knowledge you are a king, share the knowledge and you are God''
darkc0d3