September 19, 2017, 01:24:48 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Support THS!! Buy a t-shirt at the top-hat-sec store! http://www.top-hat-sec.com/store/p23/T-Shirts.html

Author Topic: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)  (Read 64394 times)

Offline 0E 800

  • If something can corrupt you, you're corrupted already.
  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 961
  • Internets: +154/-0
  • ??? ???????? ?s ?? ??c?c??-???
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #300 on: August 17, 2014, 07:54:37 PM »
if the packages you are having trouble installing are looking for a more recent version of glibc and you have already accepted that you will most likely have to reinstall; before doing so, try editing /etc/apt/sources.list and replace:
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian wheezy main contrib nonfree (just going off top of my head)

with

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian jessie main contrib

save then apt-get update and apt-get install whatever glib packages you need.
(you can be bold and try a apt-get upgrade and even more balls to the walls with a dist-upgrade)

 if your distro is xfce, you might as well do: apt-get install xfce4 xfce4-goodies (this will upgrade your xfce4.8 to 4.10 and will also probly install more current glib packages.)
even if your distro is not xfce, i would recommend doing it anyways and changing your gnome-desktop to xfce.

if all your going to do is upgrade your glib packages from jessie repo, make sure your switch back to wheezy when your done.

there are more efficient ways of upgrading specific packages from sid and testing repositories, you might want to look into that.

please post any fixes/tips you come across.  :)
"He who passes not his days in the realm of dreams is the slave of the days."

Offline GalaxyNinja

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
  • Internets: +96/-0
  • My password is **********
A computer is only as strong as its user! -R4v3n

Offline AnakinSkywalker

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Internets: +7/-9
    • Linux User Group
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #302 on: September 13, 2014, 05:57:26 AM »
kernel 3.12 has issues with lib6_amd64 / lib6_i386 , after you run the " apt-get update | apt-get upgrade " the system seems to break >> with the following error >>> ld.so  .... blah blah blah....... to work around the following error, after the first install "apt-get update" I installed the linux-kernel-3.14 /linux-kernel-3.14-headers , then rebooted the system and selected the newly installed kernel at startup in grub menu, and then I ran "apt-get update | apt-get upgrade" and it seems to fix the problems ......
" Laughing at your network security "  (LulzSec)
*Knowledge is POWER, which is in the hands of the beholder*

* https://www.facebook.com/groups/anon.universal/ *
* https://www.facebook.com/LinuxUserGroup *
* https://twitter.com/Anon_Universal *

Offline r0tati0n

  • Top Hat Member
  • Experienced
  • ********
  • Posts: 223
  • Internets: +21/-4
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #303 on: October 06, 2014, 02:14:47 AM »
I want to install this as main Operating system, but I am having big troubles updating.
I installed the newest kernel 3.14 as AnakinSkywalker suggested, but get depencie problems when doing apt-get update afterwards.
I'd like to have Augmentations.

Offline udontknow

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Internets: +0/-0
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #304 on: October 08, 2014, 02:00:25 PM »
Good Day

I have installed C.I.A V3 on an empty ssd and every thing is cool   Except I have no Internet   it is asking for a Mac address

I did every thing to add my mac address and still no luck  any help ?? and why is this distro asking for a mac address when the rest work just fine ??
 and now I have been reading some reviews here , many are having problems updating .

So I dont know I am kinda stuck here because I would Like to use this Distro

you advice will be much appreciated

many thanks

Offline Fl4tL1n3r

  • Top Hat Member
  • Prospect
  • ********
  • Posts: 14
  • Internets: +1/-0
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #305 on: October 08, 2014, 04:29:14 PM »
I installed it without any issues. Did you try to reinstall? Did you use a thumb drive to install or DVD? If it was a thumb drive did you try and reinstall the iso on the thumb drive before reinstalling?

Offline udontknow

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Internets: +0/-0
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #306 on: October 08, 2014, 04:31:51 PM »
Thanks for the reply

But No I only used CD  did not use usb

any advices ??

thanks

Offline Fl4tL1n3r

  • Top Hat Member
  • Prospect
  • ********
  • Posts: 14
  • Internets: +1/-0
Re: CodeName C.I.A V3 My Custom Wheezy 7.1 Kali 64bit (improve 2)
« Reply #307 on: October 08, 2014, 08:03:48 PM »
you could try and redownload the iso and reburn it at a slower speed, or you could try and reinstall with what you have first. If it is a tower you could check and see if your nic card is seated properly or swap out  your nic for different one.