August 20, 2017, 10:19:53 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

There are two rules for success: #1 Never Tell Everything You Know.

Author Topic: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?  (Read 2586 times)

Offline w0rm

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Internets: +3/-0
Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« on: July 06, 2013, 05:57:28 AM »
Dear THS members.

I am looking to buy a new but low cost laptop ( not going to spend 800's on it ) i actually was thinking about a 500euro budget, but then i stumbled upon this laptop and i am wondering if any one has owned it or knows a bit more about it.

I have a few questions:

The most important one, will i be able to do all my pentesting& coding with it?
Is it compatible with THS OS / Ubuntu / BT / Wheezy7 etc etc
Will i be able to do some Photoshopping with it?
Is it durable? I dont want a laptop to die after 2 years .

and just overall is this a decent machine? I'm wondering because Ive never owned an i3 , the core Ive been using for years on different machines are i5's.

Please let me know your thoughts on this machine.

Thanks


edit ; i guess its a no go because of the 1500mhz ? =/
« Last Edit: July 06, 2013, 07:41:54 AM by w0rm »

Offline R4v3N

  • Administrator
  • Super Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 3693
  • Internets: +160/-1
  • The googles and the metasploits...
    • Top-Hat-Sec
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 06:25:56 AM »
Have you considered a Toshiba satellite? Toshiba is usually very compatible with Linux. I have 3 Toshiba laptops that work fine with Linux. I do not recommend HP or Dell from personal experience.

Offline w0rm

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Internets: +3/-0
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2013, 06:38:17 AM »
I don't really like the keyboard on the Toshiba satellite , the i3 core is pretty powerfull tho, with its 2300 MHz, But then it only has 4gigs of ram & 320 gigs of HDD. I'd have to see if it types comfortable because I'm going to work on it for hours straight and i have bad experience with that kind of keyboards :P

Alltho i appreciate your response, and I'm open for other options / opinions etc.

Ill take the Satellite in consideration

edit; wait a second i think I'm mistaken on the keyboard imma watch a vid on it.

Aha, right my bad! The keyboard is okay, its not one of those push on key's it really are the keys that lay upon the surface of the laptop which is a good thing! I might take it into considerment ill compare a few machines and wait for responses from other members
« Last Edit: July 06, 2013, 06:49:48 AM by w0rm »

Offline corr.x86

  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 1111
  • Internets: +10/-0
  • ^That's a lie
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2013, 09:02:03 AM »
things to note for toshiba laptops tho... the amd cards... zzzzzz. they dont update via amd, rather thru toshiba itself which takes a longggg while to get an update. and you need these updates to get gpu cracking to work with hashcat. but recently got it to work on backbox tho, but i still had to use --force on hashcat. thecracker told me abt it. this may be conffusing, me no hablo englais. ;p
"I have this assignment bla bla bla, can you give me teh codez?"

"www.adoptamalware.com would be a nice website to run."

Offline w0rm

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Internets: +3/-0
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2013, 12:27:54 PM »
Well, would the Acer V5 be a good machine? with its 1500, Mhz?
Or is it a no go ?

Thanks for all the replys

Offline w0rm

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Internets: +3/-0
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2013, 01:17:06 PM »
Okay,

 i like the thinkpad e350  , should i get i3 or i5?

And what about ASUS do these also have cooling / mobo problems?

I'm pretty annoyed by the fact that every body says something different, Toshiba best compatibility , dell no compatibility, Toshiba bad compatibility.. I don't know what to believe :/

And i don't know if acer has these kind of problems.. :c Can some one please show some facts & proofs of incompatibility / problems with acer etc?

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 06, 2013, 02:27:05 PM by w0rm »

Offline corr.x86

  • Top Hat Member
  • Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 1111
  • Internets: +10/-0
  • ^That's a lie
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2013, 03:15:50 PM »
why not the lenovo y500? you can slot in two graphic cards in there too! hahaha. check out computerupgradeking on ebay for details. ;P it's either that, OR mythlogic custom laptops. you can never go wrong with 4th gen cards, and intense gfx. but.... theyre not cheep. hehehe
"I have this assignment bla bla bla, can you give me teh codez?"

"www.adoptamalware.com would be a nice website to run."

mm96631

  • Guest
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2013, 04:57:07 PM »
I use a Dell 15r and Dell latitude e6400

A dell Inspiron 15r has issues with ubuntu 3.2 kernel. Other than that both have had no issues at all.

Offline R4v3N

  • Administrator
  • Super Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 3693
  • Internets: +160/-1
  • The googles and the metasploits...
    • Top-Hat-Sec
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2013, 05:25:10 PM »
Well we all have our own experiences. The bad thing is buying something and then finding out it does not work. Perhaps you should buy something that one of us knows works. I don't have an issue posting what I've personally used.

Offline H4v0K

  • Administrator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Internets: +986/-1
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2013, 06:08:09 PM »
 Toshibas satellites have been good luck for me .

Offline Malachai

  • Top Hat Member
  • Super Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 2803
  • Internets: +18/-7
  • #!/bin/sh Day/Night (Grey Hat)
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2013, 10:07:26 AM »
I had dells, toshiba and now I have a hp. I had mirror problems with all of them but at the end they work. Plus all my images on on vm machines... My next one will have to be a acer, assus, or lenovo laptop...
** Dont' judge me! **

*//
  Hope that Firewall works because your SCREWED  
  //*

mm96631

  • Guest
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2013, 12:45:06 PM »

@Cr@ck3r I'm unsure about the dell 15r because I'm very pleased with your custom Anon ubuntu Distro. But if i buy it then what core should i get i3 or i5 ?



Just upgrade the kernel to 3.5, and re-install cw.3.3 drivers. It will then run fine. Mine is i5, which is plenty of power. But it is probably better to find something that is known to be 100% compatible.

Offline w0rm

  • Prospect
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Internets: +3/-0
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2013, 03:21:00 PM »
i havent heard any problems with acer?
Besides the rumours of bad mobo / cooling? :P

Offline em3rgency

  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
  • Internets: +36/-3
  • OSWP SQLi N+
    • Security Research
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2013, 03:28:42 PM »
macbook FTW! if you got the loot, running virtual machines is bomb diggity
Website: http://www.em3rgency.com

My other computer is your computer.

Offline V0id

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Internets: +4/-1
Re: Acer Aspire V5-571G ?
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2013, 06:49:48 PM »
Im in the same boat the Mr.Cracker here (TH3CR@CK3R) I got my Dell Inspirion 15R (Inspiron 15R SE 7520  to be exact) which is coming up to a year now since its purchase. And like the cracker i will admit there are some teething issues, when i first got it the iwlwifi chip set wasn't supported even in compat wireless (as it was formerly known as) for like 3-4- months after purchase and aircrack-ng didn't see it till almost the start of the year (had to use their svn version :P)
But yeah you need the 3.5 kernels and above because all the USB ports are USB v3 (for me at least) and any kernels under 3.5 don't fully support the USB v3 adapter ports :(

Other than that with a sh!t load of tweaking you should be able to get you AMD Radeon card to run with ocl-hashcat.

And the only other issue now is that Dell only sells Inspirons with Windows 8 now (As Ive seen a couple of Issues with new BIOS, but there are posts around to resolve that sort of thing

Other than that 64-bit 8GB RAM 1TB HDD 2Gb GPU card was nice for under $1000 AUD (was $999.97 inc GST) AUD @ time of purchase, however I would assume it would less now as time goes on