December 12, 2017, 12:37:21 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Support THS!! Buy a t-shirt at the top-hat-sec store! http://www.top-hat-sec.com/store/p23/T-Shirts.html

Author Topic: Hello World in nasm  (Read 1378 times)

Sam

Hello World in nasm
« on: December 18, 2013, 07:24:12 PM »
Hey!

My new years eve promise to myself is to learn assembly (and shellcode if i find the time) next year. I figured I could cheat and start early. This post might see a bit lame if you already know assembly or just lame in general since I'm really new with this language. At first I will focus on nasm on an intel 32-bit processor architecture on a GNU/Linux system. Might move onto 64 or the Microshit platform on another occasion, who knows.

So, in all its glory, here is my Hello World program :)

Let's try to break this down into something useful/understandable.

The .asm file is divided into 2 different sections as you can see. Here's some beautiful asci to illustrate it :)
|---------------|
|                   
| text section        This section contain the instructions
|                   
|---------------|
|           
| data section       This contain the variables (afaik)
|                   
|---------------|

global _start
^ This will tell the linker where the entry point of the program is. Ie: _start

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our program need to execute two tasks. Print Hello World! and then exit.
To do this we will do two different system calls to the kernel. The system call we need can be found in the file unistd_32.h. It will probably wary a bit from system to system where you can find it but on the distribution I use it's located here: /usr/include/i386-linux-gnu/asm/unistd_32.h

Looking through the file we can quite easy locate these two system calls:
#define __NR_exit      1
#define __NR_write      4