November 19, 2017, 04:02:22 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Support THS!! Buy a t-shirt at the top-hat-sec store! http://www.top-hat-sec.com/store/p23/T-Shirts.html

Author Topic: VMware or VirtualBox ???  (Read 2488 times)

Offline Danger38

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Internets: +0/-0
  • Epic stuff is Epic
VMware or VirtualBox ???
« on: February 20, 2012, 12:23:00 PM »
Hey guys i have been wondering on if VMware is better to run with BackTrack, or if VirtualBox is better to run BackTrack with.
wich one do you guys think is better run BackTrack with.
or does it depend on the computer you have ???

Thanks :)

Offline Malachai

  • Top Hat Member
  • Super Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 2806
  • Internets: +18/-7
  • #!/bin/sh Day/Night (Grey Hat)
Re: VMware or VirtualBox ???
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 12:55:45 PM »
Virutalbox is good . I love how easy that one was to run and understand. I believe other members are running in Vmware...
** Dont' judge me! **

*//
  Hope that Firewall works because your SCREWED  
  //*

Offline GalaxyNinja

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 1729
  • Internets: +96/-0
  • My password is **********
Re: VMware or VirtualBox ???
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2012, 06:49:25 AM »
VMware isn't free...
A computer is only as strong as its user! -R4v3n

Offline R4v3N

  • Administrator
  • Super Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 3693
  • Internets: +160/-1
  • The googles and the metasploits...
    • Top-Hat-Sec
Re: VMware or VirtualBox ???
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2012, 10:33:37 AM »
Well VMware player is free, but not the workstation, even though that some **cough **cough torrent it for free. Virtualbox is lighter, and it has pretty much all the same features. Virtualbox was way easy to install on BT.

Offline n1tr0g3n

  • Super Elite
  • ******
  • Posts: 4734
  • Internets: +63/-2
  • MCSA, MCP, MCTS, DCSE, CE/H, ACSP, N+,A+, CWSP
    • n1tr0g3n Information Security Blog
Re: VMware or VirtualBox ???
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2012, 05:58:26 PM »
Vbox for sure, they fixed all the issues they had a few months ago and just remember you cant use an internal wireless card it must be a USB one and you have to add it  ;)
"It's mind over matter, If you don't have a mind then it doesn't matter

Youtube  Channnel
http://www.youtube.com/user/n1tr0g3n0x1d3
Twitter  https://twitter.com/n1tr0g3n_com
http://www.n1tr0g3n.com  
http://teamctfu.weebly.com/

Offline Malachai

  • Top Hat Member
  • Super Elite
  • ********
  • Posts: 2806
  • Internets: +18/-7
  • #!/bin/sh Day/Night (Grey Hat)
Re: VMware or VirtualBox ???
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2012, 09:18:47 AM »
Yes Vbox is way better. That's how I first started using BK before taking a big jump and loading it to hard drive..
** Dont' judge me! **

*//
  Hope that Firewall works because your SCREWED  
  //*